Castle Menzies is architecturally mesmerising, dating back to the sixteenth century, it is splendidly impressive. Being a classic Renaissance example of the transition to mansion houses from the original Scottish Fortress Castles, Castle Menzies is simply stunning to view. It is located North of the River Tay and is only one and half miles from Aberfeldy.
After having undergone much of the Highlands turbulence, having been host to Bonnie Prince Charlie, who rested on his way to Culloden in 1746 and, just four days later, the Duke of Cumberland, son of the British Monarch and commander of the Government forces, during the second Jacobite rising, it was finally rescued in 1957 by the re-formed Menzies Clan Society.
After being placed in a Charitable Trust in 1993 and painstakingly restored to its former beauty, it is now open to the public as a visitor attraction centre, museum, and clan centre for the Menzies Clan. It is also available for hire for auspicious occasions such as weddings, concerts and the like. All proceeds from visitors go directly towards assisting in the continuous restoration and upkeep of the delightful sight.
Not only is there the significant beauty of the castle to savour, but the grounds also consist of the once nationally renowned Walled garden, which is still undergoing much restoration work but nevertheless has much to offer in the way of fascinating views, walks and sights. Being very fertile ground, the Garden offers plenty of plant-life as well as excellent views of the surrounding countryside and exquisite Castle from its steep slope location. It further features a world class arboretum said to have been the source of inspiration for the great botanical work of the 19th Century explorer Archibald Menzies, which can be viewed in the Castle exhibition.