Moness Homepage

HOME > CUSTOMER TESTIMONIALS
Basket You have 0 items in your basket

CUSTOMER TESTIMONIALS

Click to bookmark pageClick to print page

From trip advisor - unfortunately cant say who reviews are from

 

"Fantastic Resort"
Reviewed 11 April 2012

"So good we are going back!"
Reviewed 1 April 2012

"Highly Recommended"
Reviewed 27 March 2012

"Great short break away"
Reviewed 22 March 2012

"Great hotel - superb staff!"
Reviewed 15 March 2012

"Great Weekend, fab 2 bed house and good facilities"
Reviewed 5 March 2012

 

'Very relaxing stay staff cant do enough for you'

Anon September 2011

Just returned from weekend stay for our wedding anniversary and it was lovely we were staying in hotel on a dinner bed and breakfast package the rooms are lovely spacious and spotless. Had dinner in restaurant both nights and the food is excellent as is the breakfast the pool facilities are also great although the jaccuzi could have been warmer! All in all it was a very relaxing stay the staff at moness are fantastic and nothing is too much for them will most definitely will be returning for another visit in future.
 
'Quality Location and food excellent'

Anon August 2011

My husband and I stayed two nights in hotel decor in room and bathroom nicest we have ever stayed in.Staff could not do enough for you we dined in restaurant and bar, food was excellent piping hot and a good choice on menu Could not fault anything at all at morness resort
 
'Above and beyond service, nothing was too much trouble - staff absolutely made our stay - thank you all.”

Anon August 2011

Rarely have we stayed anywhere and had such a fabulous time! From the minute we arrived till the minute we left, our stay was perfect. Having just gone through major surgery with our son we really did need a totally relaxing experience- and wow we got it!! Aberfeldy is very special to us, home of my birth, these guys take every step to ensure your stay is phenomenal
 
'Immaculate hotel in a great location'

Anon August 2011

My wife and I booked this hotel to celebrate our 1st Anniversary. Having changed from our favourite location to stay of Pitlochry, it was our first stay at Moness. Firstly, the Moness resort itself is very attractive. It is a mixture of Hotel and Apartments & Cottages, with the Hotel being restored from a late 1700's Hunting lodge. The Reception and Leisure section of the Resort though is modern.  We had reserved a Superior room, and luckily were given Room 6 which seems to be enhanced further by a victorian bathroom with a huge standalone bath tub and other stunning fixtures. The room was immaculate and large, with a fantastic super king bed. It had great views across the lawn of the hotel. We stayed on a dinner and bed basis. The menu and wine list were both excellent, with a wide range of traditional hearty Scottish dishes using local produce. We had Haggis, Lamb and Salmon and can recommend all three dishes. Fantastic portions and tasty, homely food. Breakfast was of the traditional variety, and was of a good quality.  The staff were all superb, from a friendly welcome upon arrival to a welcoming and efficient waitress.   Overall, a great value stay in a quality resort. Highly recommended
 
'Wonderful Cottage Getaway'

Anon August 2011

There was 6 of us in our party and we stayed in one of the self catering courtyard cottages. The cottages are only three years old and are absolutely beautiful inside. One twin room and one double en suite downstairs with a separate bathroom, and upstairs the kitchen dining area where one of the sofas can be transformed into a double bed. The waiting staff were lovely and the food delicious. id not stay long enough to enjoy the spa and leisure facilities, however managed to have a game of putting (free of charge) on the hotel grounds. Would definitely return,
 
'Great Hotel and Great Service, we will be back'

Anon August 2011

We loved this hotel from the moment we arrived as the duty manager at the desk couldn't of been any nicer as he came to our room to make sure everything was ok for us as we have 3 young girls so the room was excellent plenty of space and the housekeepers were very good and helpful too. the food was very good and also all the facilities were great!!! will be back next year and will recommend to others too very happy
 
'Great Hotel in a Great Part of Scotland'

Anon August 2011

We were a family of 4 staying for 2 nights dinner bed and breakfast. We had 2 rooms on the top floor of the hotel which were bright, clean, tidy and very comfortable. We dined both nights in the dining room which was lovely, the food was very good and there was vegetarian options which we required for one of our party. We found the staff throughout the hotel very pleasant and helpful. The swimming pool was nice and an added bonus was the sauna and steam room.

'Fantastic Hotel and Service'

Anon August 2011

From the grounds, to the room, to the facilities, to the service, to the food, everything was excellent. We had a superior room on the first floor and there were no problems, everything was spotless, room was more than big enough, and there was a seperate shower and a huge bath. Service from the staff was exceptional, everyone was very helpful and friendly, even going as far as to walk us to our room door, rather than the usual direction you get elsewhere.  I could go on at length about the food, but easier to say it was the best meal I'd had in a long, long time. And there was a good range of options on the menu.  The free use of the Pool & Sauna facilities was also welcome given the weather, particularly given the miserable weather. Excellent idea with the adults only and child only periods as well.

'Loved it will be back'

Anon August 2001

We went for a one night DBB break, on arrival we were very impressed by the standard of accommodation, facilities and food offered and on departure we felt that it had been good value for money. Stayed in a superior hotel room which was spacious, clean and modern. Lots of space in the bedroom and a huge bathroom with large corner bath and separate shower. All the staff we dealt with were very friendly and efficient and made us feel very welcome.  Dinner was very nice, unfussy and good quality ingredients. Breakfast was very good with everything you would expect.  We enjoyed the pool and steam room and the lovely grounds surrounding the hotel.
We will definitely return.

  

From www.insiderscotland.com

 

Moness Resort were off to a good start when they let my toddler daughter sit chatting on the reception desk on arrival and talked to her like an actual real person for a change. This 35-acre retreat in Highland Perthshire just got better and better on a break that easily kept the two families of four I'd brought along to road test it happy.

Part of the Moness charm is, of course, to do with the location. This oasis lies just above the trim Highland Perthshire town of Aberfeldy, which has all the shops you could need and plenty to see and do to.

It is also right next to the famous Birks of Aberfeldy, a gorgeous forested gorge immortalised in verse by Scotland's national bard, Robert Burns, back in 1787. Today it makes for a great short walk up through the birch, oak and ash trees following the Moness Gorge and its cascading series of waterfalls. There are wooden walkways and steps to help you on your way as well as bench with a statue of the bard himself.

Back at Moness itself we had a three bedroom cottage. Unusually the bedrooms were on the lower level, but this worked fine as we spent most of our time on the open plan upper level, which was home to an extra sofa bed in its living space, a decent kitchen and a dining room. From here we could see the hills, not that we spent much time inside.

There is a wealth of things to keep families going at Moness. In the main block there is a good size swimming pool that is geared towards families with balls to play with and floats. A sauna and steam room are also on hand for mums and dads and the couples that also come here.

Upstairs lies a games area that boasts table tennis, a small soft play area, a pool table and a separate full size snooker table. In addition the sports hall also sees an ever changing line up of activities from badminton through to short tennis.

The family fun continues outside with expansive grounds that are surrounded by the type of trees that win Perthshire the reputation of 'Big Tree Country'. Then there is the duck pond, though the ducks on our visit seemed to spend most of their time strutting around the resort like they owned the place. For kids the highlight outdoors is the playground, with some chunky wooden play equipment. When the sun shines in summer the putting green becomes the place to be.

For couples travelling without children and singles the oldest part of the resort, the grand whitewashed old hunting lodge that dates as far back as 1758, beckons. It is reputed to be the oldest surviving dwelling in Aberfeldy and today houses 26 bedrooms that boast crisp Egyptian cotton sheets, internet access and luxury spa toiletries. For that special occasion the Romantic Suite beckons, but on this visit we were more than content to leave with a happy and satisfied party of four adults, three children and a baby. Now that is what I call family friendly.

 

From Comment Cards

 

'All the staff are first rate, very impressed, it would be difficult to find fault'
A Robert August 2011
 
'Beautiful Surroundings, Excellent Accommodation, friendly staff, do not change a thing!'
J Maclean August 2011
 
'It was a wonderful stay, Moness if a beautiful resort'
S Black August 2011
 
'Lovely hotel, people and location'
K Roberts September 2011
 
'Excellent Visit'
C Green July 2011 
 
'Would love to return and have already recommended Moness to others'
G Riddell August 2011
 
'Staff always helpful, friendly and efficient'
K Jenkinson August 2011
 

WEDDING TESTIMONIALS

 

"Thank you for making our Wedding Day the best day of our lives"

Liz & Alex Currie, married at Moness on Friday 11th December 2009.

 

We had a fantastic wedding day at Moness, everything was just perfect...
Thanks to all the staff for everything.

Liz and Alex Crawford, Renfrew.

 

"Amazing. Thanks for a wonderful wedding day."

Sonja-Anne and Stuart Anderson, Luncarty.

  

"Wonderful Wedding"

We just had a wonderful wedding at moness and it was everything we hoped for. Although a small intimate family wedding we could not have felt more important if we were a party of hundreds !

Special thanks to jean whos attention to detail ensured the venue was amazing ! the farragon suite looked beautiful both for the ceremony and the meal. Also like to thank james who put up with us all during the meal !

The hotel itself is gorgeous and the surrounding grounds were perfect for our photos. We stayed in room 19 which was lovely, and enough space for all the luggage, kilts and of course the dress ! The rest of our party stayed in the lodges, which both slept 6 and were clean, spacious and well stocked!

We had a truly wonderful day and couldnt have asked for a better venue and couldnt have had more friendly, helpful staff to make sure everything went so well !! definately will be going back to moness !

Denise, September 2010

 

"Absolutely fantastic, beautiful accommodation 1st class service in perfect surroundings"

I had to come on here & tell you all about this stunning country club. Situated in beautiful landscaped gardens. My partner & I had our civil partnership ceremony there a week ago, the staff were first class & could not have done enough for us.

The lodges are located all around the main building (which has swimming pool & beautician) & are tastefully furnished & spotlessly clean, we had a 2 bed lodge which had 1 en-suite, a bathroom with shower & another shower room downstairs.

The meals are excellent & for such a prestigious highland retreat we thought excellent value for money.

Definitely returning as soon as. A special thanks to Julie & her team, Jean James & Chris.

Kenny and Ian, September 2010

 

PARTY NIGHT TESTIMONIALS

 

"I thought Friday night was a great night. Sandstorm (the band) were fantastic and really made the night...the meal was excellent and I thought the staff were very good as well."

Tam Graham, Aberfeldy Groundwork’s, Aberfeldy.

 

We all had a fantastic night and thought the meal and the entertainment were just brilliant. Thanks again.

Lisa McRobers, Fisher’s Services, Aberfeldy.

 

"On behalf of Amulree W.R.I., I'd like to say a big 'Thank you ' to you and to all those concerned with our Birthday Dinner arrangements last evening. The tables looked lovely and festive the staff were really efficient."

Katriona Funston, Amulree WRI.

  

 

COTTAGE TESTIMONIALS

 

 "This would have to be one of the best resorts we have stayed in to date in regards to the surrounding countryside, views, ruggedness and tranquillity. The location of our unit was fantastic as it was a single story dwelling and we had views both back and front. It was an extremely quite and very comfortable size and style unit."

 Wayne Snelson

 

 

HOTEL TESTIMONIALS

 

"Staff were excellent, cherry and very friendly"

A Archibald
Feb 2012

 

"Will recommend to everyone! Stay has been excellent and very relaxing. Pool & Spa facilities great value for money. Aileen in Spa gave excellent treatment and very friendly."

N Hay
Feb 2012

 

"Commned all the staff, a credit to Moness"

L Morrison
Jan 2012

 

"Very friendly welcome"

C O'Toole
Feb 2012

 

"Room 18 lovely. Pleasant staff, good food. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay"

Mr and Mrs McCallum, Selkirk.

 

"Beautiful suite, memorable stay."

Mr and Mrs Atkinson, Helensburgh.

 

"Fab! Lovely family holiday".

Mr and Mrs Jones, Wirral.

 

"Beautiful accommodation, staff very friendly, food excellent."

Mr and Mrs Robertson, Stirling

 

GENERAL TESTIMONIALS

 

It's ACE!

That is what my boys said when asked about their holiday at Moness Country Club. We stayed in a 2 bedroom house which was spotlessly clean and finished to a showroom standard. The house had all you would expect TV, dvd player, set top box, dishwasher and all the usual. The kitchen utensils and crockery were standard size not the small hotel size cups I have found in other self-catering accommodation. The rooms in our house were large, warm and well furnished and though there was no maid/cleaning service during our 4 night stay a hoover and on-site laundry allows you to do what you need to.

The small leisure centre was perfect for my two young boys (7&3) and the playpark saw lots of visits from my own and other children.

The bar meals were nice, well priced and staff throughout the complex friendly and helpful.

Overall an excellent base for a week in a lovely part of the country, Menzies Castle particularly worth a visit for its child friendly policy and reasonable price. £12 for a family of four and the kids were provided dressing up clothes and told to enjoy themselves.

Moness would also be a worthwhile destination for a weekend away as it is a reasonable distance from all Scotland's cities.

Overall a great location and accommodation with nice, friendly staff and good facilities. We will be visiting again and would encourage anyone to do so.

Tri-man
Scotland

 

August 3rd, 2009

I am just writing to say thank you very much for our weekend break at the Moness. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Your staff were very friendly and accommodating and the hotel room was very comfortable and it was nice to have a large bathroom in a hotel. Luckily the weather was kind to us and we had a lot of pleasure exploring the Scottish countryside, lochs and towns. This was our first trip to Scotland and we very much look forward to going back again. The lifestyle in Scotland is so quite and peaceful it was very relaxing it was a shame to leave.

Thank you once again

Jan Sisto

 

18 March 2009 

Transatlantic Session Four
A PERTHSHIRE CELEBRATION OF SCOTTISH, IRISH AND AMERICAN MUSIC.

TRANSATLANTIC SESSIONS, their fourth series of six half-hour programmes currently in production by Glasgow-based independents, Pelicula Films Ltd, for BBC and RTE (and with accompanying DVD/CD release: see www.whirlierecords.co.uk) bring together the best of American, Irish and Scottish music in a format that has been hailed as “the greatest back-porch show ever”.

The award-winning approach developed by director Mike Alexander offers singers and instrumentalists an environment a world away from the pressures of the concert stage or the tyrannies of the recording studio: the pamperings of a secluded, top-quality country hotel in the Scottish Highlands; a recording venue that scores three “A”s for excellence – acoustic, architecture and atmosphere; a resident “house band”  backing star guest performers who take part on a three-day rota basis.
James Taylor. Available from: http://www.unctv.org/pressroom/winterfest/index.html
For singers and musicians old friendships are renewed and previously only dreamed-of combinations become a reality. For the television viewer – the only audience – TRANSATLANTIC SESSIONS  provide an absorbing and uniquely intimate insight, leavened by a strong element of beautifully complementary scenic photography, into the sheer joy of making music.


For TRANSATLANTIC SESSIONS THREE in 2007, the chosen venue was Perthshire’s Strathgarry House at Killiecrankie just north of Pitlochry. It worked tremendously well, not least because of the enthusiasm of our host, Sebastian Thewes, and the culinary expertise of his wife, Henrietta (her puddings acts of sabotage against the first number after lunch each day!). Two years later, Strathgarry was not available but Northern Perthshire, the “Heart of Scotland” and with the bonus of being close to both Edinburgh and Glasgow Airports, still made sense from a logistical as well topographical point of view. Sebastian and Henrietta were therefore consulted and recommended Glenlyon House Steading at Fortingall as recording venue and Moness Hotel and Country Club at Aberfeldy as a hotel with the staff and facilities to meet the expectations of more than thirty musicians and technicians nightly.

It worked. By general agreement TRANSATLANTIC SESSIONS FOUR was the best yet and by quite some way. Glenlyon House Steading (whose owners, Ian and Janet Wotherspoon and manager Robin Luggat, could not have been more understanding or cooperative) had all the space required for cameras, light and sound equipment while paradoxically its stone walls added splendidly to the look and feel of intimacy (and Henrietta’s puddings were as devastating as ever). The refurbished Moness Hotel and Country Club rose to the challenge magnificently while even the early March weather helped things along with just the right amount of snow at just the right time for scenic photography.

Music Music co-directors for TRANSATLANTIC SESSIONS FOUR (scheduled for autumn transmission by BBC Scotland, BBC4 and Ireland’s RTE and with DVD/CD release thereafter) were Nashville dobro king Jerry Douglas (eleven Grammies and counting) and Shetland’s own Aly Bain.

“House band” members were Russ Barenberg (guitar) and Todd Parks (bass) from Nashville, Ronan Browne and Mike McGoldrick (pipes and whistles) from Ireland, Scots Donald Shaw and Phil Cunningham (accordion and keyboards), James MacIntosh (percussion) and the legendary Danny Thompson (bass).

American star guests were Rosanne Cash, Alison Moorer, Martha Wainwright, James Taylor and Dan Tyminski and with fiddle virtuoso Stuart Duncan. From Ireland came singers Karan Casey, Mairead Ni Maonaigh and Liam O’Maonlai and the great Donal Lunny (dobro), Dezi Donnelly (fiddle) and Niall Vallely (concertina). Keeping the home flag flying in this year of Homecoming were Julie Fowlis, Karen Matheson, Emily Smith, Jenna Reid, James Graham and Allan MacDonald.

   


On the hunt for a lucky short break as featured in:

Basking in a warm, bubbly spa while my four-year-old son dives in and out of the pool beside me and the sunshine streams in through a large window, it's hard to believe we're actually holidaying in Scotland in February. Outside, the snow falls in thick flakes. It just couldn't be more perfect.

We're staying in a luxurious cottage on the Moness House Hotel and Country Club resort, in Aberfeldy, Perthshire, the beautiful surroundings adding to the relaxing atmosphere.

We have our own "cottage" - though it's more boutique hotel chic than rustic lodge. It is so nice that we end up having to explain words like "sumptuous" and "elegant" to the children, so impressed are we with our choice of weekend holiday home.

Basking in a warm, bubbly spa while my four-year-old son dives in and out of the pool beside me and the sunshine streams in through a large window, it's hard to believe we're actually holidaying in Scotland in February. Outside, the snow falls in thick flakes. It just couldn't be more perfect.

The Herald
Moness
We're staying in a luxurious cottage on the Moness House Hotel and Country Club resort, in Aberfeldy, Perthshire, the beautiful surroundings adding to the relaxing atmosphere.

We're staying in a luxurious cottage on the Moness House Hotel and Country Club resort, in Aberfeldy, Perthshire, the beautiful surroundings adding to the relaxing atmosphere.

We have our own "cottage" - though it's more boutique hotel chic than rustic lodge. It is so nice that we end up having to explain words like "sumptuous" and "elegant" to the children, so impressed are we with our choice of weekend holiday home.

Less than two hours from Edinburgh and Glasgow, an hour from Dundee and just 45 minutes from Perth, Aberfeldy is an ideal place for a short break. You feel you're miles away from your normal life but at the same time it doesn't take an age to get there.

And that's what makes a self-catering break so appealing to families: the chance to do the usual routine of feeding, bathing and bedding - but somewhere else.

And you don't want to arrive at your accommodation and start cleaning up either. You want to get there and find a "cleaner than clean" feel. The accommodation at Moness is immaculate and fresh.

When we do eventually venture out of our cavernous cottage, we head to the leisure centre, which has lots to do for children.

 

 

There's the indoor heated pool, of course, and a steam room and solarium for stressed-out mothers. There's also an indoor creche area for younger children with a giant Connect 4 game, doll's house and other toys. For older children, there's a games room with a pool table and table tennis.

Outside there's the duck pond and an outdoor play area - and that's just on the resort, which is set in 35 acres of countryside.

Just minutes from the complex is the village of Aberfeldy, which has a variety of pubs, restaurants and gift shops, including a local gallery shop. And you can't go to this part of the country without visiting the Birks of Aberfeldy, a local beauty spot made famous by Robert Burns.

There is a lot to do in this area. Aberfeldy is bursting with outdoor activities, from boat cruises to canyoning; canoeing and rafting to pony-riding and golf. Nae Limits is a well-run and accomplished activity centre, and should be one of your first places to stop and plan your activities (www.naelimits.co.uk or 08450 178 177).

But with three little ones to keep happy, we opted for a forest safari organised by Highland Safaris, which is just a 10-minute drive from our base. The safari we're taken on is adjusted to our needs - we have three boys under five - so we are driven high into the mountains in a Land Rover, given binoculars and an interesting and informative tour by our guide and founder/director of the company, Donald Riddell.

Donald - who worked on safaris in South Africa before setting up the Scottish version 16 years ago - talks of deer hunts, both for shooting and stalking, and points out signs of other wildlife, unusual and rare birds and red squirrels. The boys are captivated, but mostly enjoy looking through the binoculars.

"You will never forget a Highland Safari experience," says Donald. "We like to think that we are letting people experience a new side of the wilderness."

It's been a gentle introduction to safaris - and we are hooked, promising ourselves we will be back. Once home from our trip up the mountain we're too tired to cook, so we decide to order food from the hotel to be delivered to our door. Although we're staying in one of the cottages - which have attained four stars from the Scottish Tourist Board and RCI Gold Crown Award - there's a delightful hotel on the complex with 26 rooms. Ordering food couldn't be easier. The menu is simple but tasty, is of good quality and excellent value for money. And, most of all, it gives mums a night off.

We have relaxed quickly in these idyllic surroundings, going on walks, swims and safaris. This is the Scotland you dream of.

Need to know
Where to stay

  • Three nights at the Moness House Hotel and Country Club for a family of four costs around £300. Call 01887 822108 or visit www.moness.com for more information.

    How to get there

  • From Glasgow and the south: take the motorway to Stirling (M80), onwards to Perth (45 minutes), the A9 to Ballinluig, then A827 to Aberfeldy and Kenmore.

    From Edinburgh, take the M90 to Perth, A9 to Ballinluig, then A827 to Aberfeldy.

    Highland Safaris

  • Highland Safaris has attained Gold Status in the Green Tourism Business Scheme, the only activity company to do so. Call on 01887 820071, e-mail: info@highlandsafaris.net; www.highlandsafaris.net Nae Limits
  • For canyoning, canoeing, rafting, etc, call 08450 178 177; www.naelimits.co.uk

 

To view the full article from "The Herald" website please click here.

 

 

31st August, 2008

"I write with reference to a recent holiday at the Moness Country Club in Aberfeldy, Perthshire, Scotland and would like to thank you for our delightful stay.

We were a party of five including a nine year old boy and when we arrived at Moness, we were greeted by your friendly staff who made checking in to our holiday cottage hassle free and a pleasant experience, which was very welcome after a long drive. We were impressed by how well laid out the holiday homes in the grounds were, giving pleasant and relaxing atmosphere to the whole place and with ample parking spaces. We were also impressed by how tidy it all was; giving the impression that everywhere had just been cleaned and manicured.

The on-site restaurant for evening meals was also very impressive. The service by the polite and helpful staff was first class, as indeed were the menus and wines. Everything looked very new and fresh and provided us all with an excellent dining experience.

The well run swimming pool and other sports, games and activities kept our Godson very busy (thank you) and again, the staff were very helpful and pleasant.

All in all, we had a very pleasant weeks stay at Moness and would like to thank you all for making it so memorable.

You do Scotland much credit
."

Leonard Howlett
Hertfordshire

 

28th August, 2008

Our first visit to Scotland - loved it - the place is awesome! We covered the majority of Scotland during our stay managing to get back to base camp Moness each evening. Great location if you want to see the sites of this lovely country.

John Steiner (Jnr)
Toronto, Canada

 

July 7th, 2008

"We have just returned from yet another lovely break at Moness. We took advantage of a two bedroom cottage this visit - usually we stay in a one bedroom which is more than big enough for us and the two children but on this occasion we wanted "granny" to come and stay for a couple of nights (to let us out on our own to celebrate our anniversary). We would like to particularly thank Heather on reception for making us feel so welcome again. Moness really is becoming our second home. Hope to see you all again soon."

Mr and Mrs L. Reid
Alford, Aberdeenshire